2016 Alan Blizzard Award in Collaboration in Teaching

2016 Alan Blizzard Award in Collaboration in Teaching Award

Awarded by the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education

June 24, 2016

STHLE 2016 – Western University, London, Ontario

The Alan Blizzard Award publicly recognizes institutions, programs, and individuals that exemplify collaboration in university teaching that enhances student learning. The Award, named for the STHLE President Dr. Alan Blizzard, endeavors to disseminate scholarship of teaching and learning that is based in collaborative teaching practices.

“University teaching is typically assumed to be a solitary, private, and individual activity. Collaboration can also be an effective strategy for accomplishing student learning. The Alan Blizzard Award highlights excellence in collaborative university teaching and learning.”

Awarded to the flagship Northwest Aboriginal Canadian Entrepreneurs (NW-ACE) program, the Alan Blizzard award recognizes the collaborative effort between Aboriginal Communities served by Tribal Resource Investment Corporation: (TRICORP), regional and provincial governments and the University of Victoria’s Gustavson School of Business in delivering entrepreneurial learning to Indigenous communities of northwest British Columbia. This partnership enables the NW-ACE program to bring a university business education directly to the Indigenous community, enabling students to learn in their communities and territories. The program enhances the self-sufficiency and economic opportunities of Aboriginal people in their traditional territories by educating and encouraging prospective entrepreneurs to start and build their own businesses.

The Award recognizes the work of the collaborative team comprising the Tribal Resource Investment Corporation, UVic Gustavson School of Business, Office of Indigenous Affairs UVic, Service Canada, Executive Programs UVic, NW Community College, First Nations Technology Council, and UVic Fine Arts and Indigenous Education. The team includes Dr. Saul Klein, Dr. Brent Mainprize, Ms. Jacquie Ridley, Ms. Charmaine Stack, Ms. Nicole Wallace, Ms. Helena Zhang, Ms. Ruth Young, Prof. Mark Bridge, Dr. Graham Brown, Dr. Mark Colgate, Dr. Vivien Corwin, Prof. Chris Graham, Prof. Mia Maki, Mr. Greg Martin, Ms. Francesca de Bastiani, Mr. Dave McKeever, Mr. Dan Nesbitt, Prof. Heather Ranson, Dr. Brock Smith, Mr. Cory Stephens, Mr. Calvin Albright, Mr. David Try, Ms. Denise Williams, Ms. Jordyn Hrenyk, Mr.Frank Parnell, Mr. Fraser Earl, Mr. Arthur Mercer, Mr. Todd Dunlop and Ms. Robyn Kruger.

Created with